Cowards who leave a game when about to lose
Posted in 
Curling
Posted in 
Curling
Dear all,
I just started playing this today, I love the game but twice now, I was about to win and the opponent quit the game. The 2nd offender was "coolhandcol". Can this user please be removed from the system, it seems terribly unfair as my stats for the win were not enhanced and he gets away with no stains on his. This is so unfair, Anna x
If someone quits during an end, he will loose the end, and the opponent (in this case you) will be the winner.
The ratings will be adjusted accordingly. So I am afraid I do not exactly see your problem here.

OP
You're wrong  OPERATOR this is a big problem :as the situation when the opponent leaves end strives for the best stone in the middle but rather to strike his opponent and win lot of points, so the runs before exiting! system gives -1 if not just as it would if it was not escaped Suppose 4-5 .....
First of all I am not wrong, What I said is the quitter is always the one who looses the match, the other player wins, as opposed to what was being said by  Anna_K.

The extent of victory is another problem.
It is not always +1 as you suggest here, but the system takes into consideration a couple of other circumstances as well. 

However, there is no perfect solution. If the system gave (and took away from the "quitter") too much too easily,  you would complain if you dc unintentionally and loose a lot of points not from your own fault.

Just think about it: If you have 7 stones in the house, the opponent say 2, in better position, guarded by other stones. And you have the hammer. Opponent quits/disconnects. Theoretically it could have been a +8 for you, but I do not think this would be fair to give +8 either.

Unfortunately we cannot have an umpire for each match, so there has to be some well defined scoring system, which is applicable for ALL of the matches. Naturally there will be instances when one of the player will find it unfair.